Earth Foundation

Stewards of the Land, Sea and Native Cultures


Federated States of Micronesia (FSM)

Imagine yourself in Paradise. You are sitting in a thatched bungalow nestled among coconut, banana and mangrove trees. You look out past the shore and the waves breaking on the reef to a vast expanse of pristine, azure ocean. You notice a pod of spinner dolphins just beyond the reef leaping joyfully out of the water as if beckoning you to join them. Birds circle overhead. The gentle tropical tradewinds blow through your hair. This indeed seems like a wonderful dream come true.

The beautiful Pacific includes three major divisions of large island areas known as Polynesia, Micronesia, and Melanesia.

Micronesia is in the Western Pacific and stretches east with many hundreds of islands and atolls.

Micronesia is divided between eight territories:

  • the Federated States of Micronesia (sometimes referred to as “Micronesia” or “FSM”)
  • the Republic of the Marshall Islands
  • the Republic of Palau
  • the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands
  • the Republic of Nauru
  • the Republic of Kiribati
  • the Territory of Guam
  • the Territory of Wake Island

Kosrae is known as the Jewel of the Pacific because of her beautiful dive sights. Kosrae is an island state in the Federated States of Micronesia (FSM). On Kosrae there is an abundance of marine life which includes groupers, triggerfish, damselfish, barracuda, angelfish, squirrelfish, parrotfish, puffers, six different kinds of moray eels, plus countless other brilliantly colored tropical fish. Turtles, sharks, dolphins, and rays are also commmon sights. Kosrae is home to 170 species of stony corals and 10 species of soft corals.

Kosrae Village Resorrt
Grounds of Village
EF’s Grass Shack in Paradise
Dining Room at Kosrae Village
Our Hosts Interior Dining Room, Kosrae Village
Mischievous, great local boys Mayor of Kosrae